Board of Directors

TSAHC is governed by a five-member Board of Directors appointed by the Governor of Texas with the advice and consent of the Texas Senate. Board members are appointed for six year terms and serve staggered terms with 1-2 members' terms expiring February 1st.


For Board Meeting information, click here.


Board Chairman

Robert "Bob" Jones, Corpus Christi
Term Expiration: February 1, 2015

Bob Jones is an ordained Elder and Pastor of the Messianic Fellowship Church in Corpus Christi and is a talk show radio host at 1030 AM KCTA which can be heard throughout South Texas.   In addition, Mr. Jones is serving or has served on a number of Boards and Councils including the Texas State Coastal Coordination Council, United Way of South Texas, USO, the Regional Transportation Authority and is a Trustee of the South Texas Institute of the Arts.  Mr. Jones served in the U.S. Army in Vietnam (MAC-V) and Italy (NATO) and is a life member of VFW Post 3837 and a member of the American Legion Post 364.  He earned a Bachelor's degree from Temple University in Pennsylvania.

Vice Chairman

Jo Van Hovel, Temple
Term Expiration: February 1, 2013

While serving as a licensed abstracter, Ms. Van Hovel was appointed Country Recorder by the Wilkin County Commissioner in Breckenridge , Minnesota . Ms. Van Hovel later obtained her real estate license in Minnesota and North Dakota and taught real estate classes in addition to serving as a commercial and lakeshore real estate professional. In 1993, Minnesota Governor Carlson appointed Ms. Van Hovel to the Minnesota Housing Finance Board, a board on which she served until 1999. From 1997 to 1999 Ms. Van Hovel also served on the National Conference of State Housing Board in Washington D.C.


William H. Dietz, Jr., Waco
Term Expiration: February 1, 2013

Mr. Dietz is Executive Vice President and Director of Financial Services for Extraco Banks, and is a Registered Principal of Raymond James Financial Services, recognized in 2011 by Bank Investment Consultant magazine as one of the Top 20 bank investment program managers in the United States.  Mr. Dietz has been a financial advisor for more than 15 years, and is a graduate of Baylor University in Waco, Texas.  He is also a graduate of the Raymond James Institute of Investment Management Consulting.  He has served as President of the Heart of Texas Estate Planning Council, and has taken on numerous other leadership roles in his community.  He is currently Cubmaster for Boy Scouts of America Cub Scout Pack 308 of Waco, and serves on the  Board of Directors of the Rotary Club of Waco, Baylor University’s Friends of Fine Arts, and the Waco Symphony Orchestra. 


Gerry Evenwel, Mt. Pleasant
Term Expiration: February 1, 2017

Mr. Evenwel is a retired Human Resources professional in Mount Pleasant, Texas. Mr. Evenwel has nearly 40 years of experience in Human Resources and Benefits and has been employed within the upper management of Fortune 50 and 500 companies.  He recently retired from Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation where he served as Director, Compensation and Benefits. Mr. Evenwel earned a degree in Sociology from Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and has served on the TSAHC Board of Directors since 2011.


Mr. Jerry Romero, El PasoRight-click here to download pictures. To help protect your privacy, Outlook prevented automatic download of this picture from the Internet. jerry

Term Expiration: February 1, 2015

Jerry Romero is currently the Community Development Director for Wells Fargo Bank in conjunction with the Border Banking Group which covers the border areas of Arizona and Texas. As the Community Development Manager for Wells Fargo, Mr. Romero has developed numerous relationships with non-profit groups all along the U.S. and Mexico border dealing with issues of affordable housing, small business, and economic development. Mr. Romero also serves in leadership positions with the following organizations: The El Paso Collaborative for Community and Economic Development Board of Directors, Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce Board, Texas Association of Local Housing Finance Agencies, Texas Community Capitol and El Paso Housing Finance Corporation.