Foundations Fund Advisory Council

We would like to thank the following members of the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation Advisory Council for reviewing the Texas Foundations Fund proposals and for being committed to the cause of affordable housing for low-income families in Texas.


Ms. Edwina Carrington, CCIM - Chair

Ms. Edwina Carrington has been involved in real estate and affordable housing finance and development in Texas for over 30 years.  Ms. Carrington is currently a consultant with CHK Enterprises, LLC, and previously held positions such as Executive Director of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs and office managing partner of Reznick Group’s Austin office. 

Ms. Carrington’s involvement in the community goes well beyond her professional experience.  She holds many memberships and serves on multiple boards, including serving as chair of the Austin Community College Foundation, member of Texas Women for the Arts, member of the Women’s Leadership Council for the Long Center, ex-officio board member and past president of the Texas Affiliation of Affordable Housing Providers (TAAHP), board member of the TAAHP – PAC, member of the CREW (Commercial Real Estate Women) Austin, member of the Austin Urban Land Institute Chapter, member of the Leadership Texas Alumnae Association, and member of the Austin Chamber of Commerce.

Ms. Carrington has also served as a former member of the Bank One Community Advisory Board, and later Chase Advisory Board, as well as serving as the former board member and chair of the YMCA Town Lake Committee of Managers, former board member of the Austin Classical Music Center, former member of the City of Austin Arts Commission, former board member of the National Council of State Housing Agencies, former president and board member of Texas Association of Local Housing Finance Agencies,  former president and board member of the National Association of State and Local Equity Funds, and former member of the Fannie Mae Advisory Council.


Mr. Russell A. Vandenburg - Member

Mr. Russell A. Vandenburg, a native of Chicago, Illinois, has been the CEO of TVO North America, formerly known as EPT Management Company, since its inception in 1983.  He is responsible for all administrative aspects of property management, including long range planning, budgeting, personnel, and operations.  He has implemented on-site systems specifically designed to control the financial accountability of property management. Under Mr. Vandenburg's guidance, TVO has been qualified as an Accredited Management Organization by the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM).
Mr. Vandenburg earned his Bachelor of Science in Education degree from the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP).  He is currently a board member of the National Multi-Housing Council (NMHC), UTEP Development Board, Catholic Diocese Foundation, and St. Matthews Parish - Finance Board.  He is a member of the Miner Foundation, Texas Apartment Association, El Paso Holocaust Museum, YMCA of Greater El Paso, Downtown Touchdown Club, UTEP Alumni Association, UTEP First Down Club, Rebounder's Club, the Paso del Norte Group (PDNG) and the Urban Land Institute (ULI).
Mr. Vandenburg has authored a number of articles which have been published in the following publications:  Multi-Family News, Real Estate Investor, and Journal of Property Management.
Mr. Vandenburg was named UTEP's - Alumni of the Year in 2002.  In January 2004, Cathedral High School honored him by dedicating/naming the school's library - The Russell Vandenburg Library.
Mr. Vandenburg has lived in El Paso for over 30 years and is married to Marty E. Vandenburg and has three (3) children:  Heather, Joshua and Stephen.


Steve Carriker, Member

Mr. Steve Carriker has been the Executive Director of The Texas Association of Community Development Corporations since November of 2005.  TACDC is the association of the state’s non-profit, community-based development organizations.  As Executive Director, Mr. Carriker has been closely involved with numerous people and organizations that build and manage affordable housing and provide community facilities for the benefit of low-income residents.

Mr. Carriker previously served in the Texas House of Representatives and the Texas Senate for a total of twelve years, served as the State Director for USDA Rural Development for four years, and established a successful Community Development Financial Institution which he managed for four years.  He is a graduate of the University of Texas and has post-graduate training from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and from Cornell University’s Community and Rural Development Institute.


Don Bethel, Member

Mr. Donald R. Bethel is a partner of Bethel Nix Realty Company in Lamesa, Texas, and President of The Bethel Group, an affordable housing consulting firm.  He is a graduate of Texas Tech University with a degree in Finance.  Governor Rick Perry appointed Bethel to serve on the Board of the Texas Youth Commission in 2003.  Bethel had previously been appointed by Governor George W. Bush to serve on the Board of the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs from 1995 thru 2001, and named him as Board Chairman 1998 – 2000. 

Presently, Bethel serves as Past Chair of the Board of the Texas Association of Business.   He is a Past Chairman of the Lamesa Area Chamber of Commerce, and board member of the Texas Affiliation of Affordable Housing Providers.  He was a member of Ports to Plains Trade Corridor from 2003 - 2006 and a board member of the National Council of State Housing Boards from 1996 – 2000.  Bethel served as Mayor of Lamesa for 8 years and as City Councilman for 3 years.  He served as president of the Lamesa Economic Development Corporation from 1994 – 1998, a former member of the Dawson County Central Appraisal District Board, and past president of the Lamesa Rotary Club. He is a member of the Texas Association of Business, National Association of Realtors, Texas Association of Realtors, and Texas Affiliation of Affordable Housing Providers.

Liz Bayless – Secretary/Corporate Member

Ms. Liz Bayless is the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation’s Executive Vice-President and serves as the Secretary/Corporate Member of the Advisory Council.